small large larger

TNRA concert 2009

Living Room Music

In February 2009, TNRA organised Living Room Music – a concert of classical and contemporary music for strings and percussion.

The evening featured:

Brake Drum Assembly Percussion Quartet performing...

- Living Room Music (John Cage)
- Mad Amoeba (Paul Burnell)
- Seal of Approval (Paul Burnell)
- Rhythm of Black Lines (Patrick Harrex)
- KA – BU – Ki (Phil Baker)
- Per second per second (Colin G Johnson)
- Baobab – Adansonia Digitata (Andi Spicer)
- Scuro (Matthew Dungey)



Cityside String Quartet performing...

- Suite from The Faerie Queen (Purcell, arr. Latham)
- Summa (Arvo Pärt)
- Chacony in G minor (Purcell)
- The Royal Fireworks Music (Handel) - Two Pieces for String Quartet (Dmitri Shostakovich)
- 3rd movement, String Quartet No. 4 (‘Buczak’) (Philip Glass)
- Four for Tango (Astor Piazzolla)

Both ensembles then gave the first performance of a new work for strings and percussion by Cityside String Quartet member Hannah Chinery

Hannah accepts her applause

Henry Wood Hall is the number one rehearsal and recording venue for classical music in London. It was a privilege to be able to listen to this wonderful concert in this acoustically magnificent building and a delight that we only have to walk across the street or around the corner to take advantage of this truly local event.

This community concert was made possible and affordable with a grant from Southwark Council and the kind permission of Henry Wood Hall.

After the concert, we all enjoyed wine and cheese in the Henry Wood Hall crypt.

The groups and the audience